“Avatar” Movies in Order (2005 – 2022)

From 2005 to 2022, this post details how to watch the “Avatar” movies in order, and how many “Avatar” movies are there?

You’re ready?

Sure, then let’s begin, #enjoy!!!

"Avatar" movies in order

How many “Avatar” movies are there?

Depending on the way you look at it, the “Avatar” movies can either be 2, 3, or even 4.

Wait! I’ll explain.

So, the first “Avatar” movie to ever be released was “Avatar: The Last Airbender” in 2005, which was actually an animated TV series, and aired from 2005 to 2008. Then after that, in 2009, James Cameron released his own version of the movie, simply named, “Avatar” and it has absolutely nothing to do with the first film that came after it, whether in terms of storyline or characters.

And then in 2010, there was another movie released, directed by M. Night Shyamalan titled “The Last Airbender” which was actually a non-tv series and 3D remake of the first “Avatar” movie.

And then finally, fast forward to 2022, the James Cameron “Avatar” got a second installation, titled, “Avatar: The Way of Water”.

So, like I said, depending on who you ask, there might be just two, which are James Cameron’s first and second “Avatar” movies, or three if you added the very first “Avatar: The Last Airbender” TV series, or even four if you added M. Night Shyamalan’s “The Last Airbender” film, even if it doesn’t explicitly have the title, “Avatar”

And with that being said, now let’s see the right order to watch these films.

“Avatar” movies in order

How to watch the “Avatar” movies in order

Avatar: The Last Airbender2005 – 2008N/A
Avatar20092h 42m
The Last Airbender20101h 43m
Avatar: The Way of Water20223h 12m

Related: “Harry Potter” movies are there?

Avatar: The Last Airbender

“Avatar: The Last Airbender” is an American animated television series created by Michael Dante DiMartino and Bryan Konietzko.

The story is set in a world where certain individuals, known as “benders,” have the ability to manipulate one of the four classical elements: Water, Earth, Fire, and Air. Each element is associated with one of the four nations in the world: the Water Tribe, the Earth Kingdom, the Fire Nation, and the Air Nomads. The Avatar, a reincarnating being, is the only person capable of mastering all four elements and maintaining balance in the world.

The series begins with the introduction of Aang, a young Airbender and the current Avatar, who disappeared for a century. He was frozen in an iceberg and is discovered by siblings Katara and Sokka of the Southern Water Tribe. Aang’s arrival is crucial because the Fire Nation, under the rule of Fire Lord Ozai, has launched a war of conquest and is seeking to dominate the world.

Aang, Katara, and Sokka embark on a journey to help Aang master the other three elements, Water, Earth, and Fire, in order to fulfill his role as the Avatar and defeat the Fire Nation. Along the way, they face various challenges, make new friends, and uncover dark secrets from the past.

The series features a diverse and memorable cast of characters, each with their own unique abilities, struggles, and growth. These characters include Prince Zuko of the Fire Nation, who is on a quest to capture Aang to regain his honor; Toph, an Earthbender who becomes an essential member of the group; and many others.

“Avatar: The Last Airbender” is known for its rich world-building, intricate mythology, and character development. It explores themes of friendship, identity, responsibility, and the consequences of war. The series balances humor, action, and heartfelt moments, making it appealing to both children and adults.


"Avatar" movies in order

Without having anything to do with the first “Avatar” movie, “Avatar” is a 2009 science fiction film directed by James Cameron.

The story follows Jake Sully, a paraplegic former Marine who is given the opportunity to participate in the Avatar Program. Avatars are biologically engineered, remotely controlled bodies that resemble the native humanoid species of Pandora, known as the Na’vi. Jake’s consciousness is linked to his Na’vi avatar, allowing him to interact with the indigenous population and gather information for the human mining operation.

As Jake spends more time as his Na’vi avatar, he becomes enamored with the Na’vi culture and falls in love with Neytiri, a Na’vi princess. He also grows sympathetic to the Na’vi’s plight as they face the encroachment of the human mining operation.

Tensions rise as the mining operation threatens to destroy the Na’vi’s sacred Hometree, which is situated above a vast deposit of unobtanium. The humans, led by Colonel Miles Quaritch and the corporate executive Parker Selfridge, are determined to remove the Na’vi from their land, even if it means using force.

Jake is torn between his loyalty to the human mission and his growing bond with the Na’vi people. He ultimately chooses to ally himself with the Na’vi and leads them in a battle to defend their homeland.

The film explores themes of environmentalism, colonialism, and the clash between nature and industrialization.

Avatar: The Way of Water

“Avatar: The Way of Water” is the second installment in James Cameron’s growing “Avatar” movie franchise.

Set over ten decades after the events of the first film, the film begins with Jake Sully and Neytiri living peacefully with their children in the Metkayina clan, a Na’vi tribe that lives on the reefs of Pandora. However, their peace is shattered when the Resources Development Administration (RDA), a human corporation that is mining Pandora for its valuable resources, returns to Pandora.

The RDA is led by General Ardmore, who is determined to obtain the unobtanium, a rare mineral that is found on Pandora. To do this, the RDA must clear out the Metkayina clan’s territory.

Jake and Neytiri must lead the Metkayina clan in a fight against the RDA to protect their home and their way of life. They must also find a way to unite the Na’vi clans against the RDA.

The Last Airbender

"Avatar" movies in order

Being a 3D remake of the original film, the film follows the story of Aang, a young Airbender who is believed to be the Avatar, a figure with the power to control all four elements and maintain balance in the world. Aang disappeared for a century, and the world has fallen into chaos as the Fire Nation, led by Fire Lord Ozai, seeks to dominate the other nations.

Katara and her brother Sokka discover Aang, who has been frozen in an iceberg for a century. They learn about his identity as the Avatar and his mission to stop the Fire Nation’s conquest.

As they travel together, they encounter Zuko, a disgraced prince of the Fire Nation who is determined to capture Aang to regain his honor. Zuko is accompanied by his uncle Iroh.

The film explores Aang’s journey to master the four elements, confront the Fire Nation, and fulfill his destiny as the Avatar. It also delves into the group’s quest to find allies and stop the Fire Nation’s plans, which include the use of advanced war machines known as Fire Nation ships.

“The Last Airbender” was criticized for its handling of the source material, including casting choices and deviations from the original animated series. Fans of the animated series found the film lacking in terms of character development and narrative depth. Despite these criticisms, the film featured visual effects and action sequences related to bending abilities, demonstrating the elemental powers of Water, Earth, Fire, and Air, which were visually impressive.

And there you have it, folks, the complete “Avatar” movies in order, and how many “Avatar” movies are there. Give this post a thumbs up by sharing it if you find it helpful, and as always, I’ll see y’all tomorrow, #peace out!!!

Sharing is caring!