“Poltergeist” Movies in Order (1982 – 2015)

Dating as far back as 1982 when the first film was released, today, we’ll be showing you how to watch the “Poltergeist” movies in order, revealing how many “Poltergeist” movies are there.

So, you’re ready?

Sure, then let’s begin, #enjoy!!!

"Poltergeist" movies in order

How Many “Poltergeist” movies are there?

The “Poltergeist” movie franchise is a series of 4 thriller horror movies released between 1982 and 2015. The story follows a family haunted by ghosts in their house who first appear to be friendly. The movies are similar to “The Conjuring” movies, and you can even see more films like “The NUN” here.

The “Poltergeist” movies in order

Poltergeist19821h 54m
Poltergeist II: The Other Side19861h 31m
Poltergeist III19881h 38m
Poltergeist20151h 33m



The Freeling family lives a seemingly idyllic life in a suburban California neighborhood.

Strange occurrences begin when the family starts experiencing supernatural phenomena in their home. Initially, the disturbances are minor, like objects moving on their own and strange sounds. However, as the intensity increases, the Freelings become genuinely terrified.

Things get even more interesting when one of their daughters, Carol Anne, begins communicating with unseen entities through the family’s television. One night, during a severe storm, Carol Anne mysteriously disappears, and her voice can be heard coming from the television set, proclaiming, “They’re here.”

Desperate to find their daughter, the Freelings turn to parapsychologists Dr. Lesh and her team. Tangina reveals that the Freelings’ home is built on a burial ground, and Carol Anne is trapped in a dimension between the living and the dead, known as the “Other Side.”

With Tangina’s guidance, the family embarks on a perilous journey to rescue Carol Anne from the malevolent spirits that haunt their home.

Poltergeist II: The Other Side

"Poltergeist" movies in order

Following the traumatic events of the first film, the Freeling family, along with their grandmother, attempt to rebuild their lives and put the haunting experiences behind them.

Well, so they thought.

Things quickly take a sinister turn when the malevolent spirit of Reverend Henry Kane, a sinister religious leader who led his followers into the afterlife is determined to claim Carol Anne’s innocent soul.

The Freelings are forced to seek refuge with their friends and consult the assistance of Taylor, a spiritual shaman, and even Tangina from the first film, and together, they embark on a perilous spiritual journey to protect their daughter and confront the spirits that are out to consume her soul.

Poltergeist III

Thinking she has escaped the supernatural entities pursuing her, Carol Anne now lives with her aunt and uncle, Patricia and Bruce Gardner, in a luxurious Chicago high-rise apartment building. The traumatic events of the past have taken a toll on her psyche, leading her to therapy with Dr. Seaton.

In no time, things begin to escalate once again when Tangina Barrons warns that the malevolent forces that once targeted Carol Anne have found her once again.

This time, the spirits use the reflections in the mirrors as gateways to manipulate and terrorize her.

Concerned for Carol’s safety, Patricia and Bruce attempt to protect her from the encroaching supernatural forces. Dr. Seaton, who initially doubts the supernatural explanation, becomes a reluctant ally as he witnesses the inexplicable events firsthand.

As the terror intensifies, Carol’s reflections in the mirrors take on a malevolent life of their own. The boundaries between reality and the supernatural blur, leading to confusion and fear for the characters involved.


"Poltergeist" movies in order

Serving as a reboot of the original 1982 film, “Poltergeist” (2015), basically follows the same storyline as its 1982 counterpart, but uses different characters.

The Bowen family, consisting of Eric, Amy, and their three children Kendra, Griffin, and Madison, move into a new suburban home in an attempt to start fresh. Unbeknownst to them, the house is built on a former cemetery, and eerie occurrences soon begin.

Madison, the youngest daughter, starts to communicate with seemingly benevolent spirits through electronic devices. Initially dismissed as imaginary friends, the supernatural incidents escalate, and the family begins to experience disturbing phenomena. Objects move on their own, strange noises permeate the house, and Madison disappears, seemingly taken by the spirits.

Desperate to retrieve Madison, the Bowens seek the help of paranormal investigators Carrigan Burke and Dr. Brooke Powell. The team uncovers that the malevolent spirits are led by a vengeful entity known as the Beast, and they are determined to claim Madison’s soul.

And together, they must fight to save Madison and put a stop to the spirits that haunt their home.

And there you have it, folks, how to watch the “Poltergeist” movies in order. Give this post a thumbs up by sharing it if you find it helpful, and as always, I’ll see y’all tomorrow, #peace out!!!

Sharing is caring!